The Niagara 2016 Excursion, Part 3

As I may have mentioned in a blog post or two, last Saturday I took a trip to Niagara Falls with several of my film cameras.  I’m hoping that my camera gear can capture – in their own specific and unique way – the beauty and grandeur that is Niagara Falls.

And one of the cameras I brought on this trip was my Krasnogorsk ФT-2 ultra-wide film camera.  You know… the one I nicknamed “Raskolnikov.”

In the past, I’ve used Raskolnikov on some Niagara Falls photos, but there was always a problem with the pictures.  I didn’t have the camera level.

I wasn’t using Raskolnikov’s most important feature – the built-in spirit level.  If the bubble in the level is not centered properly, then the finished picture will look twisted and out of alignment.

Okay.  this time I used the spirit level.  Nice and tight.  I actually hung my hands over the fence railing just to make sure I didn’t have any obstructions that would mar the photo.

And in the end…

Got this for my efforts.

krasno 2aa
Niagara 2016 ultrawide. Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Not bad.  Time for another shot.

Niagara 2016 Ultrawide 2. Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Niagara 2016 Ultrawide 2. Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera, Kodak Ektar 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Even better.  There’s the rainbow, there’s the Canadian Falls, there’s the American Falls, there’s the Peace Rainbow Bridge.  Should have used ISO 400 film and a faster shutter, but live and learn…

Also, notice that the horizon is much more level in this picture.  This is what I hoped to achieve with this camera.  I’m getting better with it.

I’ll still need some adjustment to this camera, and I’ll probably re-scan this picture to get a better contrast for it.  But for now…

The more I see from my cameras in this Niagara Falls photo project… the better I feel.

 

2 thoughts on “The Niagara 2016 Excursion, Part 3”

Comments are closed.