The Niagara 2016 Excursion, Part 2

Last Saturday, I took several of my cameras to Niagara Falls for a little “Chuck needs to take photos and get away from all the stresses” day.  And while I was initially pleased and surprised at the power of the fifrst photos that came from my BlackBerry PRIV camera phone (have I mentioned how much I love this smart phone?), it’s time for me to see how the film cameras did.

First out of the block – the AGFA Chief.  I packed it with a splitfilm roll of Kodak Verichrome Pan 616 B&W film (expiration 1970) and some freshly-cracked-out-of-its-cartridge Kodak Gold 200 Instamatic film (expiry 1995).  The goal was to create a split-film shot, mixing B&W and color film.

Well, the B&W film didn’t perform as I had hoped.  The waterfall part of Niagara Falls showed up on the film as nothing but a big white blown-out cascade.

The Instamatic film… on the other hand…

I got a decent image.  One of the red Niagara excursion boats, the Hornblower, sailed towards the misty rainbow spray.  And it split through the greenish Instamatic film framing boxes.

Nice.  Time to scan this.

Time to clean up the dirt.

Time to boost the color a little…

And…

Niagara Instamatic 1995 2016. Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film, cracked out of cartridge and re-shot in AGFA Chief camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Niagara Instamatic 1995 2016. Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film, cracked out of cartridge and re-shot in AGFA Chief camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Holy cow.  The film was just about to turn, but I caught the shot just in time.  Not bad for 20-years-past-its-freshness film.  And maybe I’ll just trim out the right box of the three frames, just in case I want to enter this as an artistic piece.

You know what?  I’m going to try trimming that scene.  I’ve got some time before the sun rises this morning…

Trim time.

Re-scan.

Upload… and…

Sailing Into Frame. Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film, expiry 1995; shot in AGFA Chief camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Sailing Into Frame. Kodak Instamatic Gold 200 film, expiry 1995; shot in AGFA Chief camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Wow.

And I’m thinking… I took several other splitfilm-packed cameras on this trip.  I might have picked up better shots.  Or I might have picked up worse shots.

But no matter what the next shots are…

I snagged a good one here.  Artistic as it is.

Can’t wait to see how the other photos turned out.

