The Niagara 2016 Excursion, Part 1

Last weekend, I needed a day away from everything.  I needed a moment to gather my thoughts and recharge my internal emotions.

And in doing so, I brought several cameras with me.  And as the film from each camera gets developed, I thought I’d share what I was able to capture.

But this first photo… I wasn’t expecting such a great photo from THIS camera.

Take a gander at this shot.

Niagara 2016. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Niagara 2016. BlackBerry PRIV camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

That’s right… the caption for this photo does not deceive you.

I caught this image with the camera on my BlackBerry PRIV phone. (Have I mentioned at all how much I love my BlackBerry PRIV smart phone?)

When I posted this picture on my Facebook wall, it got a seriously large amount of Facebook “likes.”  More thumbs-up than at a Siskel and Ebert revue.  One person even said, “Contest winner for sure!”

No, no, I can’t enter this picture in a competition… I mean, really, honestly, this was taken with my cell phone.

And it was at that moment… that single moment… I realized that this phone took an amazing photograph.  At 18 megapixels.  Sharp and crisp.

See, my previous camera phones all took arguably low-resolution photos.  I could use those photos for reference guides, or for quick pictures on Facebook or on this blog.

But that was back then.  I could e-mail photos from my phone to my home.  But when I first tried to do this with my BlackBerry PRIV, it told me that the photo I took was too large to mail.

Too large?!?

And when I saw the photo, all my reservations about the quality of camera phone technology quickly slipped away.

In the past, I’ve had heated online discussions with a Times Union staff blogger regarding the difference between amateur photography and professional photography.  In those discussions, I denoted that a “professional” gets paid, an “amateur” does not, and that neither description denotes a person’s photographic talent.   The staff blogger chastised me, condescendingly suggesting that my comments actually insulted her photography friends.  Meh.

Honestly, though, the true difference in terminology isn’t “amateur” versus “professional.”  It’s what you can do with your equipment.  How you can use your camera’s strengths to your advantage, and in some cases, how you can use that same equipment’s weaknesses as additional strengths.  Instead of being a “professional,” you’re actually becoming “proficient.”

And with this picture of Niagara Falls… with a rainbow and a Hornblower excursion boat…

This may actually be the first photo I’ve ever taken with any camera phone I’ve ever possessed in my lifetime…

That I would seriously consider entering in competition.

Don’t get me wrong, though… I have several other cameras that went with me to Niagara Falls last weekend.  And many of them took shots that included waterfalls and rainbows and excursion boats.  And it’s very possible, after the film in those cameras are developed, that I might go in a completely different direction and enter the film photos in competition instead of this one.

But dang, people… this photo…

There may still be an opportunity to enter this photo in competition anyways…

I love having photos like this in my “short pile,” and cameras like the one on the BlackBerry PRIV in my arsenal.

1 thought on “The Niagara 2016 Excursion, Part 1”

Comments are closed.