Radiation Feet; a cure for insomnia

Insomnia’s kicking my tired butt again.

Okay, I’m awake.  Gotta find something to let me drift back to slumberland.

Maybe I need a walk.

Or maybe I need to take my camera and photograph something.

Yeah, at night.

And the strange thing is… when you’re half-awake, there’s parts of your brain that are functioning at a higher level.  Almost like the second team has come off the bench to relieve the starters.

I don’t want to take a walk outside.  It’s not warm enough yet for things like star trails or long-exposures.

Besides, I need some sleep… I’d rather walk my way back to dreams.

Wait… I have an idea.

Checked my closet.  Do I still have those old beat-up sneakers?

There they are.

Now to the utility box.  Wow, there they are… a pair of glow sticks.

Don’t ask me why I have glow sticks in my utility box.  Maybe I plan on attending Burning Man next year, you don’t know…

Crack open the glow sticks.  Put them in the sneakers.

Set up the camera.

And just for kicks… no pun intended…

I got this shot.

Alien feet. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor micro 55mm lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Radiation feet. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor micro 55mm lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Okay.  Got it.

Now what you’re seeing isn’t getting entered in any competition.  No way.  I’ve got cell phone selfies that look better than this.

But what I do have is the start of a concept.  Something that came out of the back end of my brain, something similar to waking up and trying to remember that vivid dream and only uncovering a tiny, nonsensical fragment.

This is a flag in the ground.  Now I build from that flag.  Maybe I try a different pair of shoes – possibly some beat-up old Converse Chuck Taylors from the Goodwill store, with the light of the glow sticks oozing through the grommets.  And maybe tossing some talcum powder so that the little powder flakes are caught in the glow sticks’ beams, like funky little crepuscular rays.

And I might not be able to create something suitable to my photographic desires…

And I might not have something to this journey right now…

But the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

Even if that step is in radioactive sneakers.

Right?

Now if you’ll excuse me… I need to get back to sleep.  Somehow…

Maybe I should start by counting sheep… Yeah, that will work…

One jumbuck… two jumbucks… three jumbuckzzzz…..

2 thoughts on “Radiation Feet; a cure for insomnia”

  1. Hey Chuck, as a veteran of insomnia, I’m currently taking 500 mg of Magnesium and 3 mg of Melatonin before going to sleep. It’s been working well for me. I used to take Ambien and even Xanax, and I hated the stuff. Made me feel like a irritable zombie the next day. But now I feel fine the next day. Alternatively, of course, you could take a walk outside when the weather warms up more.

    Like

Comments are closed.