POLL: The “Cup of Flowers” decision

Here’s my problem.  I’m trying my best to create this awesome “Cup of Flowers” photo for competition season.  I’ve swapped out mugs, I’ve swapped out flowers, I’ve tried different alignments and exposures.

And I can’t decide which one to keep.  I can’t enter all of them in competition, I have to narrow down my field.

So I need your help in this, loyal blog readers.  No, I’m not going to ask you who should be President, or who will win the World Series this year.  This is a tougher choice.

Here are my three “Cup of Flowers” photos that I feel are strong enough to enter Competition Season 2016.  I want to hear from you.  Which one would you vote for if you were a judge?  Which one would be the best to submit in competition?

Let’s start with the first one.

AN EARTHEN CUP OF FLOWERS

A Cup of Flower 8x10
An Earthen Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1:35 macro lens, ISO 100, 1 minute exposure. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Second one.

A SALTY CUP OF FLOWERS

A Salty Cup of Flower. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1:35 macro lens, ISO 100, 1 minute exposure. Photo by Chuck Miller.
A Salty Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1:35 macro lens, ISO 100, 1 minute exposure. Photo by Chuck Miller.

And now my third endeavor, which involved another trip to Hewitt’s and some more pansies who gave their lives for photographic immortality…

A STRIPED CUP OF FLOWERS

A Striped Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor micro 55mm lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
A Striped Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor micro 55mm lens, three images combined in HDR capture. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Now here’s my issue.  I have limited availability, I can’t enter all three pictures in the same competition.  I could enter all of these in different shows, though… but I think that my creative eye needs some outside advice.

Okay, my blogging readers, this is where I ask for your help.  If you had the choice, which one of these “cup of flowers” pictures do you think would have the best results in competition?   And after you pick, let me know in the comments section why you chose that specific image and why you thought, of the three available, that it was the best choice.

Trust me.  I can’t have every photo be a cross-processed flip-loaded expired splitfilm shot…

Sometimes I have to explore the natural side.

[poll id=”18″]

6 thoughts on “POLL: The “Cup of Flowers” decision”

  1. Thanks for soliciting help from us “amateurs.” I chose No. 3, the striped cup of flowers, because it was the most striking of the three and because I enjoyed how the colors seemed to flow, with dissonance, from something of nature to something man-made. Sort of how it works in the real world. Anyway, that’s my two cents.

    Like

  2. Whereas the striped cup was my least favorite, the cup looking too much in competition with the flowers. Though I DO like the flowers in that cup the best.

    Like

    1. I agree that the striped cup is a bit cheesy, but the clash with the flowers makes it interesting to me.

      Like

  3. Number two has better contrast and light as well as showing superior composition. I’m not an artist, but I’m married to a really good artist and have learned some good stuff through osmosis.

    Like

  4. This took me a while. I finally went with Striped Cup, but then again, I love jewel tones. I love all of these pictures. They just make me happy!

    Like

Comments are closed.