“Can I borrow a cup of flowers?”

I’ve been testing out a few different photographic techniques, and at some point in time I should use them for simple photos.  You know… ones that don’t involve rolling two strips of film into one camera, or using a camera that’s so old, my Grandma Betty could have taken a selfie with one.

So yesterday I made a road trip to Hewitt’s Garden Center.  Figured I’d look around for some subjects worth photographing… and …

Oh look, there’s some pansies.  Viola tricolors and the like.  And what beautiful petals they have.  They almost look like little faces.

A Hewitt’s employee came over to ask if he could assist me.  I told him that I wanted to purchase some small colorful flowers and that these might be what I need.  A few purchases later, I’ve got plants in the car and I’m heading home.

First thing I tried to do was take the pansies out of the plastic containers and shove them in a dirt-filled pot.  Yeah, that didn’t photograph very well.  Plus, it’s not the way to grow plants.  I can read your mind now.  Geez, Chuck, don’t get near my garden.  Miller’s such a terrible gardener, he’d probably kill Astroturf.

But I had an idea.  I took some of the best pansies – the ones that still had all their petals and didn’t have windburn or frayed edges or whatnot – and I placed them in one of the mugs I wanted to use for my “salty mug” concept.

Remember the salty mug concept?  Well, for every mug that DID ooze out salt through its pores, there were at least five or six that DIDN’T ooze any salt.  So I put the flowers in one of those, and crossed my fingers.

Nikon Df, do your thing.

A Cup of Flower 8x10
A Cup of Flowers. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1:35 macro lens, ISO 100, 1 minute exposure. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Wowie.  That’s impressive.  Look at those flowers, and I found a use for one of my “non-salted” mugs.  Now if I could ever…

What?

What you say?

You want to see the salted mug?

And you want to see it with pansies in it?

Well, I don’t know… it’s not like I work in radio and can take requests…

Oh hell, you guys are good blog readers.  I got cha covered.

Pansies out of the mug.

Go get the salty mug.

In go the pansies.

Refocus.

Deep breath.

Come on Nikon… give me some magic.

A Salty Cup of Flower. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1:35 macro lens, ISO 100, 1 minute exposure. Photo by Chuck Miller.
A Salty Cup of Flower. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1:35 macro lens, ISO 100, 1 minute exposure. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Hello.

This is good.  I’m definitely liking what I see.  Now I have to dial this all in and decide what would work for Competition Season 2016.  I could choose the first photo … or the second photo … or maybe an entirely different photo…

But this might be a nice diversion.  Still life.  I hear it’s quite a photography discipline…

Besides, it’s not like I’m ever going to drink out of these mugs…

Not today, anyway…

1 thought on ““Can I borrow a cup of flowers?””

  1. These photos are fantastic. They look like paintings. I would definitely be proud to display either one in my home. Another successful Chuck Miller photographic experiment!

    Like

Comments are closed.