Now that Google’s Nik collection is free…

Background.

Years ago, someone suggested that I tweak one of my photos by purchasing a digital plugin called Silver Efex to make one of my pictures ultra-sharp.  I thought about it, and actually considered downloading the Silver Efex plugin – until I discovered that the plugin and its entire software bundle, called Nik, was $500.

And that was $500 more than I wanted to spend.

Trust me.  I’m not a cheapskate.  And I understand that in the world of photography, if you have to ask how much something costs, you can’t afford it.  So I skipped the plugin and worked with my available imaging programs.

Somewhere along the line, Google acquired the Nik software package.  I didn’t know that they dropped the price of the software suite from $500 to $150.  But the other day, I found out that they eventually dropped the price from $150 to FREE.

Free is nice.  So I downloaded the Nik plugins.  They attached to my fully-licensed copy of Photoshop CS6 (in case you were wondering, Chuck doesn’t buy pirated software either; I waited until I could purchase my own licensed copy).  There it was.  Nik plugins, all ready to go.

Now for the test drive.

I chose several of my photos that, for one reason or another, I chose NOT to enter in competition.  I entered the original raw .NEF files into Photoshop, and then used these new Nik plugins to, shall we say, enhance what I’ve got.

And here are the results.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You tell me what you think.  I understand this is my first attempt with this Nik software, but I have a feeling that if I tune this just the right way…

This could be a weapon in my photographic arsenal, especially with my digital gear.

Plus… it gives me more options when “Competition Season” arrives.  And maybe the photos that I DID consider for Competition Season 2016…

I may have to reconsider my options.

Which, in all honesty, isn’t a bad thing…

 

 

