“Time After Time” – 1979 movie, 2016 TV series?

I was a HUGE fan of the 1979 science fiction time travel movie Time After Time, in which H.G. Wells (Malcolm McDowell) chased Jack the Ripper (David Warner) through the streets of modern-day San Francisco.  It was suspenseful, it was funny, it was one of those films that I saw in the theater – and then came out of the cinema, bought another ticket, and went right back in to watch again.

Here’s a trailer for the original 1979 film, just to pique your interest.

Yeah.  Scuse me, after I finish this blog post, I’m going to watch this film again.  That’s how good it was.

Anyway, this post is actually NOT about the 1979 film, so much as it is about an upcoming possible 2016 TV series.

The entertainment industry blog Deadline has reported that ABC is working on a pilot that would either continue or reboot the 1979 movie.  Casting for the pilot is underway, including instilling Freddie Stroma (Cormac McLaggen in the Harry Potter films) in the H.G. Wells time traveler lead role, and Regina Taylor (The Unit) as a modern-day businesswoman who guards the Time Machine in modern-day New York City.

Time travel TV shows have proved their popularity over the years, and usually involve the main character going back in time and righting what was once wrong; or getting trapped in a past time period and not being able to leave said time until some wrinkle in the timeline was ironed out.  You know the shows by heart – Quantum Leap and The Time Tunnel were the most popular in that genre, but I could rattle off other time travel shows – Timecop: The Series, Time Trax, Tru Calling, 7 Days, Odyssey 5, Being Erica, Voyagers!, Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventures (the animated series), Back To The Future (the animated series), etc., etc.

But yeah, if this show actually makes it to full production as a TV series, man oh man I will block out my nights to watch this show.  No “watch it later on demand” for me.

Let’s put it this way.  I loved the original motion picture.  And even if I can’t get Malcolm McDowell and David Warner and Mary Steenburgen to reprise their roles from four decades ago in this series…

I’m still psyched to see if this show actually takes off.

Yeah.

