The Emulsive Interview

This is waycool beyond belief.  And I have this little weblog to thank for it.

Yesterday, the film photography online magazine Emulsive published an interview with yours truly, featuring my photographic experiments with, among other techniques, splitfilm.

You know … that little technique where I put more than one roll of film in a camera and expose it simultaneously… including award winners like The AGFA Bridge Over Ansco Lake and The Lenten Meal and Jessica: Instamatic Dichotomy.

Jessica: Instamatic Dichotomy. AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, two rolls of Kodak 200 Instamatic film. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Jessica: Instamatic Dichotomy. AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, two rolls of Kodak 200 Instamatic film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

And here’s the thing.

The Emulsive interview, along with all the experimentation and fun little tweaks here and there and everywhere….

None of this would be possible without this blog.

This blog encouraged me and motivated me to keep trying new and different techniques and tweaks and the like.  If something worked, great.  If it didn’t work, then I went back to the drawing board and tried again.  And I chronicled every success, every failure, every time I raised my fist and said “Yeah,” every time I raised my fist and said “Curse you, Red Baron!!” –

This blog kept me going.  This blog wouldn’t let me stop.

And neither would any of you, my wonderful readers.

You kept me going as well.  You kept the pressure on, you kept me focused.  You made suggestions that helped my photos get better; and when those photos won ribbons, you wanted these pictures for your homes and offices.

Trust me.  Splitfilm didn’t invent itself; I’ve seen others try to do it and I built on their experiments.  Somewhere, someone is reading this little blog or the Emulsive interview and thinking, “I can take that idea and improve on it, for sure.”  And that’s great; that’s the evolution of art.

And it’s the evolution of this blog as well.

That’s a good thing.

3 thoughts on “The Emulsive Interview”

  1. Awesome dude. Way to go Chuck! Chuck is happy 🙂 We all know how great your art is, in blogging, writing stories and your fantastic photography. Keep on keepin’ on Chuck.

    Like

Comments are closed.