Even the mug needs coffee…

As you know, I’ve been tinkering around with my “Salty Mug” series of photos, in which I pour salt and boiling water into a clay mug and wait until the salt permeates through the nooks and crannies and cracks in the mug itself.  After a few tries with a few different mugs, I found an unglazed stoneware mug that looks like it will work well.

This morning, I decided to take this photo experiment to the next level.

6 am in the morning.  I set up a tiny studio on the front porch of my apartment.  I placed the mug on the little stand, poured some water into the mug to add a bit of a glisten, and with the scene lit only by the glowing welcome light next to my front door, I …

Oh, did I forget to mention it was barely 5° above zero?  BRRRRRRRR

Never mind that.  Cold is just warmth exiting the body.  Think positive, Miller.  You won’t catch frostbite if you work quickly.

Adjusted the lens.  Shutter speed.  Focus.

And a decent photo came out.  Not the greatest, but remember – I’m still experimenting with this process.

Even though I don’t think this shot is competition-season-worthy, I can at least turn this little picture into a nice morning meme.

And here you are.

Even the Mug Needs Coffee. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/3.5 macro lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Even the Mug Needs Coffee. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/3.5 macro lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This is my next step.  This is my next attempt.  And for sure, I’m going to keep trying until I can get a super-whiz-bang picture out of this little concept.

But right now I don’t need coffee.

I need about four electric blankets.  Did I happen to mention that it was 5°F when I took this picture??

Maybe I should have waited a couple of hours and taken this picture with some Eight O’Clock.  😀

3 thoughts on “Even the mug needs coffee…”

    1. I tried using colored salt – smoked black Alder salt from Whole Foods, to be precise. But the smoke molecules didn’t permeate through the mug. And I was afraid that adding any food coloring after the fact would dissolve the salt.

      Like

Comments are closed.