It ain’t Hermès, it’s Herringbone

I’ve capped my limit to useable, shootable cameras at ten – my Nikons (the Df, the F100), my AGFAs (the Chief, the Clipper Special f/6.3), Kodak Red (my Kodak Medalist II), Leica Green (my Leica M3), my Rolleiflex Automat MX, my NIMSLO 3D film shooter, Raskolnkov (my Krasnogorsk ФT-2 super-ultrawide) and, as soon as it comes out of the repair shop for tuning and upgrades, my Argus C3 with snakeskin leather chassis.  Ten’s a good number.  The eleventh camera brands you as a hoarder.

But within that, I need to get suitable camera bags for these little treasures If I wanted to use them in the field.  Some of the cameras can fit in one bag, while others deserve their own carrying valise.  Some of the cameras already came with their own sweet, branded camera bags, while others spend their time in utilitarian generic satchels.

So the other day, I started looking for new camera bags for some of my gear.  And believe me, the choices were endless.  What, how many women out there are truly satisfied with one single purse?  Okay, now you know my struggle.  The new camera bag has to be both stylish and workable.

Then I came across what looked like a stylish carrybag that I felt would be suitable for a small rangefinder camera.  Maybe good enough for Leica Green or the Argus or the AGFAs.  It was branded as Herringbone Timecode, and came in four colors.  I chose the sand color, and sent a link to one of my friends, asking what she thought about the piece.

“It reminds me of an Hermès design,” she wrote back.”  If you think the bag needs to withstand some wear and tear, pick it … it has an Hermès look, but is more ‘outdoorsy.'”

And there’s some of you out there who are laughing right now and thinking, “Yeah, Chuck thinks Hermès is that guy with the wings on his feet that delivers flowers.  He probably pronounces it ‘hurr-meez’ like a knuckle-dragging neanderthal.”

Hey.  Just because I’m a man doesn’t necessarily mean I’m limited in my fashion knowledge.  I know Hermès is a Parisian high ends clothing and accessories designer, and it’s got that little accent over the second “e” in its brand name.

I also know that a comparable Hermès bag is way out of my price range.  And that’s the point in time where dollars and cents meets common sense.

Yesterday the bag arrived.  And personally, I think it looks amazing.  It’s got a nice retro feel to it, as if I was walking through the streets of Palermo or Avignon or Liverpool, looking for photography subjects along the way.

Psst… You want to see the new bag?

Of course you do.

IMG_20160203_074037

The bag’s interior can hold about 8-12 35mm film cartridges; the front pouches are great stashing areas for filters or cable shutter releases.  And it looks stylish.  And it works well for what I need.

That’s important.  And it’s about time I treated myself to some class.

Class is good.

1 thought on “It ain’t Hermès, it’s Herringbone”

  1. Nice looking bag. Sand is a great neutral color, just make sure it doesn’t match your shoes exactly…one wouldn’t want to anger the style gurus out there. 🙂 How could you settle on just one? Such self control! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.