Dream Window 19: On the Edge

Dream Window 19: On The Edge.  Photo: Leica M3 with Kodak Tri-X 400 film.  Creation by Chuck Miller.
Dream Window 19: On The Edge. Photo: Leica M3 with Kodak Tri-X 400 film. Creation by Chuck Miller.

With my latest Dream Window … man, look at this … I took an old window that contained half a diamond frame, replaced the old busted glass with new fresh mirror glass and a photo of the solitary tree atop the Helderberg Escarpment in Thacher Park.

Nice, eh?

Okay, I know you’re scratching your head about this.  Something’s missing.  Something’s not here.  Where’s all the pre-construction dialogue?  How come there aren’t any paragraphs about what it took to build this piece?

What gives?  And why, in the name of William Randolph Hearst, did this window get named for a departed and withered TU blog whose authors treated me as if the world was better off if I didn’t exist in it?

Man, I gotta explain everything… okay.

In constructing this Dream Window, I realized that I’ve built enough of these little treasures that I didn’t need to have someone else cut the glass for me.  Or install the glass.  And especially considering that the center piece looks like a narrow home plate in a baseball stadium.

See, in past Dream Window constructs, I’ve talked about getting the glass cut to specific measurements by either Lowe’s or Hobby Lobby or someone else.  I wasn’t comfortable enough to do it.  I was afraid that I would either ruin the glass with an inaccurate cut, or slash my fingers with an inaccurate cut.

You know – like the first time you ride a bicycle.  You fall down.  You scrape something.  But after a while, you understand your center of gravity and the gyroscopic nature of same.  And your parents remove the training wheels from the back of the bike.  And you’re off exploring in your brand new Schwinn or Huffy or whatever bike was your first.

And I think, as I’ve progressed on these Dream Window projects and other art projects, I’ve become more comfortable with cutting art glass and stained glass, to the point where I don’t have to schlep my pieces to someone else and ask them to do it.

Case in point – for the glass in Dream Window 19: On the Edge, I actually went to Lowe’s and bought – right off the racks – a big pane of glass.  And just for good measure, I also bought a big pane of mirrored glass.  A few cuts here and there, and installation was a breeze.

And the Thacher Park tree?  Of course it looks great when you consider that I flipped the window 180° to get the better angle for the window itself.

I suppose that’s why I named the piece “On The Edge.”  The tree is on the edge of the escarpment.  And the creation process for this Dream Window brought me to the edge of my comfort zone, without completely tumbling over.  It was an increase in confidence, in commitment, in determination.  To never give up.  To never settle for “just good enough.”  To see a dream in your mind, and realize it as substance.

Plus, this is a functional Dream Window.  You can use the mirrors to check yourself – not only as a grooming reflection, but also as a reflection on your own life.  You are here in this moment.  You have traveled a journey of miles and years, and the journey is not complete.  But in that journey, you have taken a stand – like the tree on the cliff – and your existence in this world has been proven and is undisputed.

You are here.  You are important.  Let nobody tell you otherwise.

Enjoy Dream Window 19.  And believe me, I’m already constructing Dream Window 20.

Because, for me, my journey hasn’t ended either.

It’s just taken different roads to new destinations.

1 thought on “Dream Window 19: On the Edge”

  1. *nodding head up and down* This one speaks to me as well, it’s saying “Against all odds” and “Perseverance” . I like that you used mirror panels, and the reason for doing so, functionality aside. This Dream Window could represent so many causes and diseases (for me as you know, it’s MS) and the one who must fight it the hardest is reflected right back at self. I’ve enjoyed all your Dream Windows, they truly amaze me. But this one…I’m in awe. I can best describe the emotion it evoked as the feeling one would get if they were walking thru a museum and saw a portrait of one’s self hanging on display, and they had no knowledge of it having ever been painted. How did the artist capture MY soul, my essence? *nodding once again* For me, this is the best one yet.

    Like

Comments are closed.