K-Chuck Radio: Goin’ to the Hoop

I never thought I would see this in my lifetime.  There’s a rap song dedicated to New York Knicks rookie Kristaps Porziņģis.  No kidding.  Brace yourself.

Now what do you think would be more brain-banging than a rap song about Kristaps Porziņģis?

Okay, how about a SECOND rap song about Kristaps Porziņģis, complete with snow-drifting Lamborghinis and comely lasses folk-dancing in the snow?

Okay.  Yeah.  Okay.

Look, it’s not like the worlds of basketball and music haven’t intersected over the years.  I mean, Shaquille O’Neal had a few rap tracks, either with the Fu-Shnickens or on his own.

Of course, being an old-school rap fan, the best basketball-rap-track for me is the one by the legendary Kurtis Blow.

And I don’t mean the remake by Shad Moss – oh wait, he was Li’l Bow Wow back then.

And when Michael Jackson wanted to create a basketball music anthem, he had one person in mind for the accompanying music video… another MJ.  And I don’t mean Magic Johnson or Mark Jackson…

Because let’s face it… this wasn’t the first time that Michael Jackson felt that basketball vibe.  Check out this track from his days with the Jackson Five.

My National Basketball League of Canada has recorded a few league-positive tracks of its own; here’s the 2013-14 theme song “That’s How We Roll,” as performed by MC Mike Boogie.

Of course, you cannot have a playlist of basketball-themed music without the original Brother Bones performing the classic Harlem Globetrotters theme, “Sweet Georgia Brown.”

Almost makes me want to go out, grab th rock and take it to the hoop.

Of course, this is me we’re talking about.  Because you know what the next words after “taking it to the hoop” would be, right…

You guessed it.  “Airball!!!”

1 thought on “K-Chuck Radio: Goin’ to the Hoop”

  1. I’m so arm’s length from today’s NBA, when I was really engaged in the late 1960s until Jordan’s 1st retirement. So happy to see Geese, Curly Neal, Meadowlark Lemon et al represented.

    Like

Comments are closed.