Double Rainbow captured. Achievement unlocked.

It’s been a long weekend for me, and I was watching the last of the football playoff games when – of all things – a massive thunderstorm blew through the Capital District.

Yes.  In January.  A thunderstorm.

Later on,  as the thunderstorm finished its sonic and visual show, I settled back to watch some more television.  Not that I cared that the Packers were beating the Redskins, neither team really looked that good on the gridiron…

Wow, the sky is dark and wet outside.  I went out to take a look and –

Rainbow.  Big and bright in the distance.

Forget the football game, Chuck.  Grab a camera.

The Nikon Df was within reach.  I checked the lens.  The last time I used this camera, I had one of my ultra-wideangle lenses – the Nikkor 28mm f/2.8 – on the chassis.  Good.  Let’s get to shooting.

I could take a picture right outside my window and – oh crap.  Telephone lines right through the rainbow.  Ugh.

No time to waste.  Rainbows disappear in an instant.

I quickly drove over to the old Ford Motor Company parking lot on Green Island.  For those of you who are not familiar with the Ford Motor Company’s existence on Green Island, just know that Ford operated a radiator plant in the Town and Village from 1933 to 1983.  Any Mustang, Thunderbird, Galaxie 500 or Edsel built during that time had a little piece of the Town and Village in its engine.  And when Ford moved out of the area, the Town and Village took over the hydroelectric generators that powered the Ford plant, and now the Town and Village residents all enjoy cheap municipal electricity.  And they lived happily ever after.  The end.

Not the end for me, though.

Here I am.  In the parking lot of the old Ford plant.  And just as I pull in, three other cars arrive.  People jump out of their cars, with their little point-and-shoots and iPhone cameras at the ready.

Not me.  I gotta get this shot and I gotta get it now with my DSLR.

Oh my Lord.  Double rainbow.  Double freakin’ rainbow.  I gotta get this right now.

Oh crud.  Even though I can see the rainbow from pot o’gold to pot o’gold, it still won’t fit in a single shot.

No time to waste.  I turned the camera to a portrait angle, and took several shots from left to right.

After I snagged enough images… I ran back home and stitched five good shots into a panorama.   In the past, I’ve used standalone products like autostitch.de to get my panoramas built; this time, I used Photoshop CS6’s built-in autostitich program.  A few different tries… posted one try on my Facebook page and boy did it get lost of love.

One more try.  I adjusted some settings, ran the program again…

And this time, I got this.

Double Rainbow over Green Island NY
Double Rainbow over Green Island. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 28mm f/2.8 lens, five photos combined in panorama capture. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Holy Roy G. Biv, Batman… That’s a double freakin’ rainbow with a full bow from horizon to horizon.  Yeah, it’s got the old Ford Motor Company plant in the picture, but still…

I would say… for all intents and purposes… achievement unlocked.

This is a good thing.  And at a time when my soul could use a pick-me-up…

I can imagine that God, in all His glory, reminded me of Genesis 9:13-16.

13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth.
14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds,
15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.
16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

So maybe, just maybe, there’s still hope out there.  For me, for you, for all of us.

I could certainly use as much hope as can be gathered.

So can we all.

5 thoughts on “Double Rainbow captured. Achievement unlocked.”

  1. That picture is amazing! Rainbows disappear so quickly and for you to have just enough time to leave the house, park in the lot, adjust the camera and capture it is even more amazing! Well done m’friend.

    Like

  2. Stunningly beautiful! Such a work of art. I got caught in that thunderstorm while walking in St. Agnes Cemetery yesterday. Very eerie scene that was.

    Like

Comments are closed.