Chuck’s best photos of 2015

It was a good year for photos.  For the first time, I ventured into infrared photography, I also had some success with three-dimensional images and time-lapse.

Traditional photography?  Did that too.  Some of the photos won awards, others won hearts.  Some photos were personal challenges; others were happy accidents, others took part of my soul and converted it to a tangible, stunning result.

So in no particular order, for all of you who follow my blog, here are ten photos I took this year.  Hope you enjoy.  They include:

VIVALDI’S POND

Two ribbons for my four-seasons photograph, as well as plenty of “how the hell did he do that” gazes any time the original images are displayed.  My most successful “magic motion” lenticular print.  Sometimes a dream can come true.

A NIGHT IN COPPER

A night of copper
A Night in Copper. Moon photo: Nikon Df camera, Rokinon 500mm f/8 lens with 2x teleconverter. Landscape photo: Nikon Df camera with Nikkor 28mm f/2.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsThe planning and preparation to capture the full “blood moon” eclipse, combined with the incoming clouds over the Hudson River… turned out well.

PARABOLA: FROM HADLEY TO CORINTH

Hadley Parabolic Bridge 1-inf, Hadley, N.Y.
Parabola: From Hadley to Corinth. Minolta x370s camera, Kodak HIE infrared film with Hoya R72 filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

One of three infrared film success stories for me, this picture took several tries along the Sacandaga River-spanning “Bow” Bridge just to get it right.  Glad it was worth all the effort. 😀

THE SARATOGA AND NORTH CREEK RAILROAD

Saratoga and North Creek Railroad, October 2015. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Saratoga and North Creek Railroad, October 2015. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yeah, in this photo you can see the Bow Bridge in the distance, but my main goal that day was to capture the tourist railroad as it spanned the Great Sacandaga River.

LAUREN AND THE LEAVES

I just received my lenticular print from Snap3d.com, and wow it looks great.  You know I’m entering it in 2016.  You just know it.

BONDING

Bonding
Bonding. Rolleiflex Automat MX camera, Kodak EIR (“Aerochrome”) infrared film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This abstract shot of gees in Washington Park was an early attempt to use Kodak EIR “Aerochrome” infrared film.  It turned out well, and was exhibited at Altamont this year.

AEROCHROME FALLS

Aerochrome Falls
Aerochrome Falls.  Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak EIR (“Aerochrome”) film with yellow filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

My most successful color infrared shot.  Had to go all the way up to Essex County to get this image, and I feel it was worth the trip.

NIAGARA FALLS IN SPLITFILM

Niagara Falls in Instamatic splitfilm in AGFA Chief
Niagara Falls in Splitfilm. Two rolls of Kodak Gold 200 Instamatic film (expiration 1993), respooled and shot in AGFA Chief camera. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

What, you thought I completely forgot about my splitfilm experiments?  Or my experiments with vintage Instamatic film?  Silly you…

WASHINGTON PARK LAKEHOUSE

Washington Park Lakehouse
Washington Park Lakehouse. Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera, Fuji Velvia 50 film, 1/200 shutter speed. Photo by Chuck Miller.

 

This was probably my best shot with “Raskolnikov,” my Krasnogorsk ФT-2 camera.  If you’re in the right spot, and the stars are aligned properly… or in this case, the aerating waterspouts…

THE PEW OF HOLY INNOCENTS

The Pew of Holy Innocents 72
The Pew of Holy Innocents. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens. Three images combined in HDR capture. Photo by Chuck Miller.

And finally, my venture into urban exploration, as I captured this sad little sofa inside a crumbling church on North Pearl Street in Albany.

These were my ten favorite photos of 2015.  I hope they were your favorites as well.  And as for 2016…

I have some new ideas and I hope to implement them.  We shall see.

2 thoughts on “Chuck’s best photos of 2015”

Comments are closed.