I passed the first round… so far…

Staying in upstate New York for as long as I have, I’ve developed a deep appreciation for the beauty and the wonder and the majesty of the Adirondack Mountains.  I’ve lived in them as a child, I’ve photographed them as an adult.  And now I’m going through my archives, trying to find three suitable artworks for an upcoming show.

The Wild Center, an interactive museum and ecology center in the Adirondacks, is organizing an art show called “The Forest And The Trees,” in which the artworks presented must depict some aspect of those six million acres of “Forever Wild” territory in upstate New York.

And thanks to my good friend and blog reader Deb Marks, who tipped me off about this event, I gave my photos the old “college try” and submitted three artworks.

It took a while to find the best pieces for consideration, but in the end, I knew which ones deserved the love.  So last October, I submitted the following entries:

VIVALDI’S POND

I mean, where else are you going to see four seasons in one location simply by leaning from one side to the next?  Yeah, thought so. 😀

AEROCHROME FALLS

Aerochrome Falls
Aerochrome Falls. Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak EIR infrared film with yellow-orange filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js


This was my color infrared slide picture from earlier this year; it was shot up in Essex County off Exit 29 of the Northway.

 

STAR TRAILS OF BROWN TRACT POND

Star Trails of Brown Tract Pond
Star Trails of Brown Tract Pond. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens, hundreds of images combined in time-lapse capture. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

This was taken two years ago near Raquette Lake, and is arguably one of my most striking star trail photographs.

I submitted all three entries… then I waited.

December 14, 2015.  I received word that the three pictures made it past the first round of judging.  They wanted high-resolution shots for the next round.  Well, I sent the high-res shots for Aerochrome Falls and the Brown Tract Pond, but for Vivaldi’s Pond I had to send a little video clip showing the change of images as one walked past the artwork.

First round cleared.  Time to wait again.

Fingers crossed.  Hoping for the best.

This could make for a very good 2016.

Oh man if any one of these shots made it to the walls of the Wild Center… that would be so swank. 😀

1 thought on “I passed the first round… so far…”

  1. SO swank! I can’t wait for my next visit to the Wild Center to see your work on the wall. I’m going to be REAL positive about this. They have to love your work as much as I do 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.