“Lazarus, it is time to boot up.”

A few months ago, I had a computer crash that crippled my custom-built computer tower- and in the resulting crash, one of my hard drives froze up.  Thousands of photographs and music were trapped on that hard drive as well.

I tried a few different techniques to resurrect the data, including swapping out the motherboards, but all my attempts were fruitless.

For all intents and purposes, my computer drive was as dead as Lazarus.

And I considered my only option – to send the drive out to a data recovery service, who would put the hard drive in a “clean room” and extract the data and charge me upwards of $2,000 for my troubles.  Urgh.

So I reached out to my old trivia teammate Dylan MacLeod, who was part of my “We Are Your Nemesis … Fear Us!” trivia team at the Ruck years ago.  See, Dylan has the technology and ability to build computers from scratch.  Heck, he could probably walk into Computer Renaissance with $100 in his pocket and, simply by purchasing used parts off the shelf, he could kit-bash a super-computer in nothing flat.

So I asked if he had any software or technology that could resurrect my recently crashed computer drive.

He said he did.

Okay… so I gave him the 2015 crashed drive.

Fingers crossed.

A few days later, Dylan messaged me on Facebook.  “Was able to recover 300gb,” he said.  “I’m just double checking stuff to make sure it’s actually readable.

Holy Gospel of Saint John, Chapter 11, Batman… I believe we are in the presence of a Christmas miracle.

Last night, he dropped a copy of the hard drive (as well as the crashed hard drive) to me.  Apparently, in order to save my old data, Dylan has his own custom-built “clean room,” and he was able to remove the original platters from my hard drive, enter them into a new chassis, and transferred the data first to his computer, and then to a brand new, recently scrubbed Western Digital 500gb hard drive.  “Don’t use Seagate,” he said to me.  “Seagate drives are crap.  You were lucky that you used Western Digital for your disc drives; WD is much more durable.”

And after thanking him for all his efforts (and throwing some money his way in gratitude), I put the recovered data drive into a hard disk drive enclosure and plugged it into my computer.

Data visible.

I immediately transferred everything on the recovered data drive to a brand new, recently purchased 6TB external disk drive.  And over time, I will sort through the over 100,000 files recovered, stream out whatever I don’t need, and thank Dylan MacLeod that my lost data has returned from the great beyond.

See?  Good things happen out there…

One thought on ““Lazarus, it is time to boot up.””

Comments are closed.