Above the clouds

Last Sunday, I could barely leave my house without walking into a thick, foggy weather pattern.  Maybe Green Island teleported to downtown London while I slept.

Well, this ought to be fun.  Let’s go take some pictures in the fog.

I grabbed my Leica M3 camera “Leica Green,” loaded it with a roll of high-contrast efke 100 film, and went for a drive.

Unfortunately, the early morning fog made for really bad shots.  I felt like I was recreating Silent Hill landscapes.

Then I thought to myself… maybe shooting up at Thacher Park might be a possibility.  Yeah.  Some fog over the Helderberg Escarpment will look really swank.

And sure enough, I drove out to Thacher Park.  Up the winding road.

And into…

Bright sunshine.

Yep.  Your man needs to understand that “fog” is at ground level, not at the side of a mountain that overlooks the Capital District.

Oh well… I’m up here, let’s get some shots.

Hello, tree overlooking Helderberg Escarpment.  Let’s get a good shot, shall we?

Tree over Helderberg Escarpment. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, efke 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Tree over Helderberg Escarpment. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, efke 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yeah, let’s try another angle. I like this overlook, but I just want something with more detail. Maybe I can use the frost-colored fog to my advantage.

Okay, Leica Green, do your stuff.

Solitary tree 16 x 24
Tree overlooking Helderberg Escarpment. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50 lens, efke 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Yeah.  Way better.  More detail.  Chuck like.  Short pile for this one.

And as I was about to drive to a new location, I turned right and saw –

Holy crap, half the side of the mountain was covered in fog.  Dude, get some shots of this, this is like freakin’ climbing K2 or El Capitan or something.

Okay.  Let’s get these shots.

Mountainside. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, efke 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Mountainside. Leica M3 camera, Summicron 50mm lens, efke 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Ooh.  Chuck likes that one.

Of course, now I’m going to keep an eye on the weather forecast, and when fog rolls into the Capital District again…

I’ll be ready. 😀

 

