Liquid Physics: a square watersplash

Some time ago, I found an article on PetaPixel about a photographer who used a landscape beach shot to create a waycool mind-trippy photo image.

Ocean air salty hair

A photo posted by Jati Putra Pratama (@jatiputra) on Aug 5, 2015 at 12:41am PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

That’s waycool and mind-trippy.   And you know I want to do this.  I want to create something with my photos that will look just as cool – if not for Competition Season 2016, then maybe just for a Dream Window artwork or some other construct.   Okay, deep breath.  This guy probably is a Photoshop expert.  Me?  I’m still fumbling my way around things. But I have an idea.  Maybe I can make something similar by using one of my old photos. Beach shots, beach shots, here, there, where… oh look, here’s a picture from my 2012 trip to New Brunswick.  A nice splash of water on Saints’ Rest Beach near Saint John.

Waves Along Saints' Rest Beach, Saint John
Waves along Saints’ Rest Beach. Nikon D700 camera, Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yeah.//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

This ought to work.

I cropped the picture down, removing the small outcropping on the right and trimming the bottom of the picture to remove the shore.  The bottom now contains white foam and brown, splashy waves.

splash

Okay.  This is now my canvas.  I trimmed left and right sections of the picture, rotated each section at 45-degree angles, and superimposed the trimmed pieces onto the main picture.  Yeah, it’s easier to show than to explain.  Just trust me on this.  I’m having fun right now.

A little adjustment here and there, a little alignment, some quick tweaks and…

Liquid Physics. Nikon D700 camera, Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 lens. Photo and some digital mumbo-jumbo by Chuck Miller.
Liquid Physics 1. Nikon D700 camera, Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 lens. Photo and some digital mumbo-jumbo by Chuck Miller.

Ooh.  I’m liking this.

Let’s take this one step further.  I’ve got half a square… duplicate the image… flip it…

And now I have…

Liquid Physics 2. Nikon D700 camera, Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.
Liquid Physics 2. Nikon D700 camera, Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Holy inverted polar panorama, Batman… it freakin’ worked!!!

And if it looks this good with a three-year-old test shot when I wasn’t paying attention…

Oh man oh man oh man…

I have a really, really good feeling about this stuff.  Yeah, I realize I’m bordering on Inception material here… but I don’t care.  I want to have fun with this process.

Mmm… horizons… Adirondack foliage horizons… waterfront horizons with flowing waves… snow-capped foliage with holiday lights…

Yeah.  Chuck’s gonna have lotsa fun with this.

This can work.

