I can sleep through Jar Jar Binks if I want to…

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…

I have made a decision.

Next month, I will pull my first ultra-movie marathon – a viewing of all parts of a movie series from morning to night, culminating with the premiere of the newest movie in the series.

And yes, that means I’m doing a seven-movie Star Wars marathon at Crossgates Mall.

I can do this.  I’ve already purchased my mega-ticket.

The movies will be shown in consecutive storyline order, so I get The Phantom Menace at 4:00 a.m. to start the marathon.  Or, as I could call it, “nap time so that I don’t have to put up with Jar Jar Binks and a lot of bureaucratic Trade Federation nonsense.”

Oh wait… Tattooine pod race?  I can wake up for that.

Action scenes with Qui-Gon Jinn and Darth Maul?  Yeah, that works.

I get the rest of the movies, followed by a 3-D presentation of the newest Star Wars film, Episode VII: The Force Awakens, otherwise known as “Han Solo and Chewbacca return to the big screen.”  Oh yeah, and Luke and Leia and C-3PO and R2-D2 and some other characters…

I’ve always wanted to do an ultra-movie-marathon like this.  Not just see a film once a week until the big premiere.  I would have loved it if one of these theaters set up an ultra-movie-marathon – you know, all six Rocky movies leading up to the premiere of Creed, or all the Mad Max movies leading up to the premiere of Mad Max: Fury Road.  That would have been fun.

I understand that there are some prizes for people who make it through all seven films, including a Star Wars lanyard with collectible art.  Lanyard, schmanyard.  I want a Millennium Falcon model kit and a couple of tubes of airplane glue.  I mean, seriously – who wants to wait to build the greatest spaceship in the galaxy, the ship that made the Kessel Run in less than twelve par-secs?

Of course, there are other concerns.  How many bags of popcorn?  How many cups of diet cola?  How much time do I get for bathroom breaks?

This ought to be fun.  If you’re also doing the seven-movie Star Wars marathon, either at Crossgates Mall or at another location, by all means, let me know.  It’s definitely worth the experience.  😀

 

 

1 thought on “I can sleep through Jar Jar Binks if I want to…”

  1. I understand how you are feeling.. I’m doing the marathon too and I can’t wait for it but I must admit I’m also a little nervous for it cause I’m like ugh can I make it through 3 am till like 9 something.. I’m not sure lol but mostly the Star Wars fan is going YOU CAN MAKE IT PROVE YOUR FANDOM

    Like

Comments are closed.