Smoked syrup steak

The last time I visited Vermont, I stopped at a farmer’s market for a “driving break.”  After walking around the market for a couple of minutes, checking out everything from frozen meats to artisan breads to thrown clay pots…

I came across someone offering fresh-tapped maple syrup.  Yeah, you heard me.  Maple syrup in Vermont.  What’s next, Miller; you going to find baked beans in Boston?

Work with me on this.

What I found was a product called “Sugar Bob’s Smoked Maple Syrup.”  And apparently this company has infused smoke into their maple syrup, giving the product a kick that you wouldn’t expect from this sugary stock.

From their promotional materials:

“We gently infuse the richest and darkest pure Vermont maple syrup with hardwood smoke to create this magical and natural addition to American cuisine… we bubble low temperature maple and beech wood smoke through a finished vat of maple syrup for roughly 24 hours … the goal should not be to make your dish obviously sweet or smoky, these are background “supporting role” flavors that let your main ingredients shine, and your guests marvel at the depth of your culinary skills indoors and out.”

I tried a sample of it.  Bang.  One purchase later, I was back in my car and on my way.  Driving break concluded.

So where am I going to try this product?  It’s probably too strong for pancakes or waffles or French toast.

Then I remembered.  I could use this as a marinade, or as a dipping sauce – or –

One trip to Henry’s Meat Market in Waterford, and I came home with a nice marbled steak filet.

Don’t worry, this isn’t turning into a Table Hopping column.  Trust me, it’s not like Steve Barnes could identify me in a one-person lineup…

But still, I had to give this stuff a try.

I lined a cooking tray with aluminum foil, and rubbed the steak with Kosher sea salt.  Then, on one side of the steak, I drizzled some of the smoked maple syrup.

375 degrees, 25 minutes.

And out it comes.

Juicy.  Tender.  Moist.  Flavorful.  And that saucy kick.  Yums.  Damn so good… om nom nom…

Apparently I can also mix this maple syrup construct into dipping sauces, into remoulade, into a whole bunch of things.

But on steak… oh my…

I gotta make another trip to Henry’s Meats … and purchase a cut of their delicious Boston pork shoulder.

Because if this smoked syrup does wonders for steak…

Imagine what it would do with the OTHER white meat.  🙂

