K-Chuck Radio: The Rocshire Memories

It seems like a generation ago that this little startup record company came along and tried to conquer the world.  Rocshire Records, an independent label from Anaheim, signed a slew of artists, and within a few years it blasted through on its way to conquering the music world.  Grammy Awards, gold records, worldwide tours…

Yeah, no.

In reality, Rocshire collapsed the moment the feds discovered that the record label’s president and secretary had embezzled millions of dollars to prop up their label.  But for the two years that Rocshire Records existed, they did put together a decent roster of talent, and some of their recordings actually cracked into the Billboard Hot 100 charts.  Including…

TONY CAREY
I Won’t Be Home Tonight

Carey was a member of Rainbow; he also had a side recording project, Planet P, on another label.  This was one of two songs Carey released with Rocshire before moving on.

TONY CAREY
West Coast Summer Nights

Yeah, this was the second.  Joe Walsh is playing on this track, in case you were curious.  After this, Carey moved to MCA Records and had a Top 10 hit with “A Fine, Fine Day.”

CEE FARROW
Should I Love You?

I really don’t know much about Cee Farrow, except that this new wave track of his did get as high as #82 on the pop charts.  That, and he operated a chain of nightclubs in Nevada.

THE DIN
Reptiles

Without argument, the best thing Rocshire ever had going for it.  Bar none.

CHAD AND JEREMY
Zanzibar Sunset

Yes, it’s THAT Chad Stewart and Jeremy Clyde, they reunited, recorded an album on Rocshire, then watched as the label folded.  Urgh.

ALCATRAZZ
Hiroshima Mon Amour

Legendary guitarist Yngwie J. Malmsteen was a member of this hair-metal rock band.  This was Yngwie showing his dexterity on the axe.

LENNY WILLIAMS
Love Soldier

Lenny Williams was a member of Tower of Power, and this funky single (and the LP “Changing”) was recorded during his solo period.

EDDIE AND THE MONSTERS (BUTCH PATRICK)
Whatever Happened To Eddie?

This little two-minute novelty track featured Butch Patrick – yes, the same Butch Patrick who starred in Lidsville (ha ha ha ha ha) giving a quick update as to what he’s been involved with over the past 20 years since the show went off the air.

SUZY ANDREWS
Da Da Da

Suzy Andrews did a few cover songs of German pop hits on Rocshire’s “X” Records sublabel in an effort to crack into the pop charts.  She also covered Falco’s “Der Kommissar,” but I’m not going to torture you with TWO Suzy Andrews songs in one blogcast.  One is more than enough.

YELLOW POWER
Hai Samurai

This was the other big “X” Records recording under the Rocshire aegis; this little bit of electropop is now a record that commands up to $50 among rare record collectors.

So I just felt like sharing a Rocshire Records retro ride this morning, considering that the weather is getting cold…

And I still think of you, Stacy.  Every year on this day.  And I still miss you today.

3 thoughts on “K-Chuck Radio: The Rocshire Memories”

  1. Chuck,
    after a thorough review of this I have come to the conclusion that you must be a kick a$$ trivia player.
    please don’t tell me this comes out of your brain and you research it a bit.Yngwie J. Malmsteen, man I have not heard that name in 25 years. keep them coming as I guess not all my old brain cells are gone but obviously a lot more than you. Bravo Chuck Bravo

    Like

  2. I was a victim of Rocshire. I produced and ran the project starring Butch Patrick and the record and video of Whatever Happened to Eddie?
    I had a production deal with Rocshire so I produced everything and gave them finished product.
    All they had to do was press the record, promote it, and distribute it.
    We sold 181,000 units of the record. My first quarterly check was $900. The next check should have been near $50K. But the FBI swooped in and shut Rocshire down and I lost everything.
    I have the federal copyright of the video. And I only license it to TV production companies so I can make a few bucks off it.
    I have no rights on the record. I got a 2 year license from Universal Studios for the Munster theme. Butch got credit for the lyrics.
    So I don’t care how often they play the record. No dough for me.
    BTW- The project was a Milli Vanilli deal. Butch did not sing or play bass. I played bass. And a member of Eddie and the Monsters did the vocals. Only one member of the band actually played on the record. I used studio pros for the rest of the music. So we couldn’t play live because Butch couldn’t sing a lick.
    I’ve written about it endlessly on my web site in which I review cigars. I add stories about my life in rock n roll and the Eddie Munster project. All down and dirty. But all the truth.

    Like

Comments are closed.