Pastiche, Goldenrod and Hay

When I visited the Durham Fair last September, I had my four-lens Nimslo camera handy.  And yes, I took a few photos while I was there; the Durham Fair actually has a dedicated llama competition, and I wanted to capture some images of these majestic beasts.

And I got these.  Hope you like.

Okay, that was fun… sorta… I mean, from these experimental shots, I have to remember that I can’t get TOO CLOSE to the subject – a distance of about six feet will allow me to retain both focal sharpness and dimensional separation.  Yeah, that’s just some mumbo-jumbo, I know… just deal with it, ‘kay?

But even after these shots, I felt guilty.  I’m driving three hours and photographing llamas …

When I can go visit my buddy and former TU blogger Teri Conroy at Wunsapana Farm and photograph her herd right then and there!  Shame on me for being so clueless and insensitive!!

I contacted Teri and asked if there was some available time where I could come out to the farm and photograph her animals.  She said sure, and we set an appointment.

I brought several rolls of Fuji Superia 400 film (yeah, I sound like I’m being high-fallutin’, but really “Fuji Superia 400” film is the stuff you can purchase at Walmart) and the Nimslo camera.  Of course, once I arrived at Wunsapana Farm, the llamas all walked over to see who the new visitor was – and then they left to take care of their own business.

One or two llamas stuck around.  And I photographed them.

And I should mention that one of the llamas that stayed in frame is a new arrival to the farm, Pastiche.  Pastiche (officially known as SQL Pastiche) recently took “Best of Breed” at the llama show at the Big E this year, so he’s right now the king of the farm.

Of course, I happened to catch Pastiche as he was chomping on some hay.  Okay, Pastiche, look up.  Say cheese.  Don’t spit at me.  Oh wait, you’ve got some goldenrod on your head…

Great.  I’ve got a llama that thinks he’s Scott McKenzie.

Anyways, here’s some cool shots of the llamas at Wunsapana Farm, all shot with Fuji Superia 400 film and my four-lensed Nimslo camera.

*

I photographed the rest of the herd while I was there; here are some of the best shots from that photo shoot.

Wow.  It’s almost like you could reach out and pet them.

Okay.  Few things learned.

  1. You need a good background and foreground, and you have to place your pivot point in the photo (the area that will remain at the same exact location for all images) somewhere between.  Example.  The photos at Wunsapana Farm had the backgrounds and the llamas’ heads moving, but the llamas’ torsos remained in the same position.  Thankfully, I was able to focus on a tiny pivot point – in some cases, a tuft of fiber or a blade of hay – and lined up all the pictures to pivot on that point.
  2. Don’t let the film get scratched or scuffed.  As you can see from some of the images, there were some nasty little film scuffs or scanner dirt, which comes across in the picture like flickers from an old motion picture.  I suppose if I worked a bit harder to scan these more properly, this could be avoided.  Yeah, I know.  That’s just me.
  3. These magic-motion pictures work best when there’s something linear, some object that defines the third dimension.  In the Wunsapana pictures, that included the hay in Pastiche’s mouth.  So if there’s hay or leaves or even a splash of water…

Hmm…

Let me repeat.  Hmm…

Scuse me for a second.  I have to go try something with this camera.  Don’t want to let this idea slip away.

1 thought on “Pastiche, Goldenrod and Hay”

Comments are closed.