The return of the Starbury?

It was about ten years ago, when the local Steve and Barry’s clothing store in Colonie Center offered a brand new product.  It was an NBA-quality basketball sneaker line, underwritten and promoted by New York Knicks star Stephon Marbury.

The shoes – known as “Starburys” – retailed for about $15/pair.  Think about that for a second.  For the equivalent pair of Air Jordans, you could purchase a dozen Starburys.  That’s enough to outfit an entire basketball team.

Stephon Marbury touted the durability and quality of the shoe, noting that his company could produce the footwear inexpensively while retaining its quality output.

Starburys lasted for about a few years, then disappeared when the Steve and Barry’s store chain filed for bankruptcy.  I purchased a few pairs of Starburys back in the day, I wore them from time to time (they were extremely comfortable).

Now comes word that the $15 Starbury shoe might return to store shelves.  No distributor has been named as of yet, but Marbury has promoted the new line of shoes by showing pictures of the new designs on his Instagram account.

#starbury COMING SOON! #retro with a strap…

A photo posted by Stephon X. Marbury (@starburymarbury) on Oct 3, 2015 at 8:15pm PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

#starbury COMING SOON A photo posted by Stephon X. Marbury (@starburymarbury) on Sep 27, 2015 at 3:56pm PDT

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

Holy cow.

Now let’s make something very clear.  I am not a sneakerhead, or a sneaker snob.  I’m just as happy wearing a pair of Converse Chuck Taylors as anything else.  But I did enjoy wearing Starburys, they were of decent quality, and I always used them as my “dress shoes” when I needed to photograph a basketball game.

Of course, Marbury had to take a swipe at another line of shoes – Michael Jordan’s line – by stating that Jordan’s shoes and the new line of Starburys could be manufactured in China for the same price.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.jsIt doesn’t stop there.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

And this little bon mot:

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

And here I thought he only cared about what he did to Craig Ehlo. 😀

Still, I’m glad that Marbury’s put his line of shoes and clothing back into production. I really hope he does get the shoes into the stores and I hope that they sell. Heck, I’ll take a size 10 1/2 off the production line if he’ll sell it to me.

But what about you, my loyal readers?  Would you purchase Starbury sneakers at $15/pair, either for you or for someone else?  Would you eschew Air Jordans and Reebok Pumps and whatever footwear UnderArmour is producing for a pair of Starburys?

Or do you consider the price of Starburys so cheap that it’s almost inherently assumed that the shoes are of inferior quality, maybe one step above bobos?

You remember Bobos, don’t you?

Yeah… I thought you did… 😀

1 thought on “The return of the Starbury?”

  1. If I wore sneakers I would buy them, no doubt about it. I would rather pay for quality than a name. I remember “back in the day” when my kids were teens and HAD to have THE current fad brand name whatever. If they used their own money, go for it. If mom was footing the bill (pun intended) then we bought the best quality we could find. They grumbled, but lessons were learned. You don’t always get what you pay for, sometimes you get a whole lot less!

    Like

Comments are closed.