This will teach me to not leave my film in the car for three months…

It was a beautiful sunny, summer June day.  And I was outside, taking pictures of the lakehouse in Washington Park with my Krasnogorsk FT-2 “Raskolnikov” camera.

I wanted to test out some Fuji Velvia slide film in the camera, and since I had taped up part of the camera’s interior to reduce its fixed aperture from f/5 to f/11 or so, I had hoped that this experiment would prove fruitful.

Experiment with Krasnogorsk ФT-2 “Raskolnikov” camera

PARAMETERS: To photograph the lakehouse at Washington Park in a wideangle format.


SOFTWARE: One roll of Fuji Velvia 50 slide film.

☭ ONWARD, COMRADE! ☭

I took some pictures of the Lakehouse, and hoped to include the building and the two spray aerator fountains that flanked it.

Okay, got the pictures. I put the camera in the car…

And completely forgot about taking the film to get developed.

In other words, the camera sat for THREE MONTHS in the trunk of my car.

Yeah, Chuck can be a forgetful person at times.

Anyways, I had some upcoming photo projects that I thought would work great for Raskolnikov, so I had to find the camera and load its cartridges with fresh strips of film.

Uh-oh. Of the five cartridges I possessed for this camera, two of the cartridges were already packed with other film, and one of the cartridges was broken.  That left the only two available cartridges to me as the ones already in the camera.  Oh look, there’s that roll of Fuji Velvia 50 that I shot a few months ago.

Better get it developed.  I shot it, may as well see what I got.

Yesterday, I received my film back.  Few notes.  Even though Fuji Velvia comes in 50 and 100 speeds, I was able to get a bright sharp picture by shooting at 1:200 with the internal shutter taped up.  If I didn’t tape the shutter up, I’d most likely over-expose the film in bright sunlight shots, even at the camera’s fastest shutter speeds.

Still…

I did get this shot from the batch.

Washington Park Lakehouse, Summer 2015.  Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera, Fuji Velvia 50 film.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Washington Park Lakehouse, Summer 2015. Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera, Fuji Velvia 50 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Holy …

I got this shot?

And I let it sit for three months in the car?

I could have entered this picture at Altamont, for crying out loud!

I could have entered this picture at Historic Albany Foundation’s BUILT charitable auction, for crying out loud!

Oh well… I guess I’ll just save this in the “short pile” for 2016.

And I’ll know better next time to not leave the film in the car for three months… especially when I could have shots like this in the mix.

Serves me right. 🙂

1 thought on “This will teach me to not leave my film in the car for three months…”

Comments are closed.