My 2015 Altamont Fair entries are…

No more talk about the Altamont Curse.  I’ve earned ribbons in the past two years, and three sets of ribbons in the past four seasons.  So I need to shut my trap about any godforsaken Altamont Curse.  It doesn’t exist any more.  It’s in the past.  Let it stay in the past.

No more talk about being nervous or apprehensive about entries into the Fair this year.  After all these years, and after all the photography I’ve done in that time, I should know my way around a camera and a subject by now.

No more talk about whether my photos are good enough to enter into this competition.  There’s plenty of excellent photos and photographers in this competition.  They all have a chance for ribbons, and every ribbon they win is justified and hard-earned and deserved.

No more talk.  Talk is vocal.  Action is visual.

And speaking of visual…

You know how this works.  Last Sunday, I brought my entries to the Fairgrounds.  They were cataloged, itemized, and hung on the walls of the Art Center.  And after I was sure that the pictures were all in good hands (of course they were), I left the building, picked up my free tickets (exhibitors get free non-ride tickets to the Fair, don’tcha know) and went home.

And Monday is judging day.  I don’t want to post my entries in the blog prior to judging day, in that I don’t want to influence any judges’ decisions.  Other competitors don’t have a Times Union blog, so posting my pictures on judging day would be an unfair advantage to me.

But today, all the pictures have been judged and the Fair is now open to the public.  All the artwork is currently hanging on the walls of the Altamont Fair Art Center.

And all I can do right now is wait.  Because I’ll go to the Fairgrounds tonight and see how things turned out.

But I can at least show you the four pictures that I felt have the best chance for consideration.

And they are…

VIVALDI’S POND

Vivaldi’s Pond. Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak Ektar film, four images combined in lenticular print. Photographed in South Corinth, N.Y. in September 2014, December 2014, March 2015 and May 2015. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This is one of only two pictures that I’ve entered simultaneously in both Altamont and the New York State Fair this year.  I feel so strongly about it that I felt it needed both chances to shine.  That, and since I had two prints of the picture, I could submit a framed copy to Altamont and a foam-boarded copy to the State Fair.

BONDING

Bonding.  Rolleiflex Automat MX camera, Kodak EIR ("Aerochrome") film with yellow filter.  Photo by Chuck
Bonding. Rolleiflex Automat MX camera, Kodak EIR (“Aerochrome”) film with yellow filter. Photographed in Albany, N.Y. in May 2015. Photo by Chuck Miller.

My first personally successful shot with color infrared film. Let’s see if first chance gets first-timer’s luck. I have a gut feeling with this image; if these geese and these goslings do what I need them to do… I’ll be in a happy place.

FALLING SKYWARD

Falling Skyward 1
Falling Skyward. Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera, Svema 100 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I’ve entered wide-angle panoramic shots before, but this is the first time I’ve ever put my Krasnogorsk FT-2 camera output into Altamont.  This is big for me.  Truly big.  This is the same print that was exhibited at the Thacher Park Nature show back in March.

AEROCHROME FALLS

Aerochrome Falls.  Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak EIR ("Aerochrome") infrared film, yellow-orange filter.  Photographed in North Hudson, N.Y., June 2015.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Aerochrome Falls. Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak EIR (“Aerochrome”) infrared film, yellow-orange filter. Photographed in North Hudson, N.Y., June 2015. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Every year, there’s one picture that simply captures my attention and makes me want to enter it in every possible locale.  Aerochrome Falls is that photo for 2015.  Let’s see how well it does at Altamont.  And yes, this is the other picture that is also appearing at the New York State Fair.  And trust me, I ain’t done with this photo in terms of competition season.

Two years ago, I was able to enter a fifth photo; albeit it was in one of the animal categories that was not part of the Art Show.  That photo, The Jumbuck, snagged a blue ribbon at Altamont.  So this year, now that I have a goat photo, I can enter the goat photo in the “Goat” subdivision.  So, here he is…

RUTLAND THE GOAT

Rutland the Goat
Rutland the Goat. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I blogged about Rutland the Goat here.  So let’s see if this little guy can pick up a nice blue ribbon for his efforts.

Okay.  The first four pictures are on display at the Art Center.  Rutland the Goat is over at the goat enclosure, and I won’t know how ol’ Rutty did until Wednesday.  And I won’t know how the other four pictures did until I get to the Fairgrounds.

And I wish everybody who enters their photos in this show the best of all successes.  I hope all of your pictures get bright colored ribbons and lots of prize money.

So if you find out how my photos did before I do… just smile at me and let me know you’ve seen them.  Don’t spoil the surprise, whether it’s good or bad.

Fair enough?

2 thoughts on “My 2015 Altamont Fair entries are…”

  1. Good luck, Chuck! I am going to the fair on Wednesday and I always look for your stuff. It’s fun to see the pictures from the blog all grown up out in the real world. If you poke your head into the sheep barn I have six wool products in competition there. Based on what I saw going in there are some really beautiful things on display. If you do stop by and snap a picture I’d love to see!

    Like

Comments are closed.