Wow, it really is a blue moon out tonight…

Another test of my lunar photography.  I have two months to get this dialed in before the September 28th event.  And I do not want to be unprepared.

Last night was not only a full moon, it was the start of the proverbial “blue moon,” when two full moons occur in any calendar month.

Blue moons have factored into song… of course you know the most famous version of a blue moon in a song.

And blue moons have also factored into motion pictures, most notably a salacious film from the 1950’s, directed by Otto Preminger and starring William Holden.

I would have added a video clip from the TV show M*A*S*H, in which this film features in a very wacky plot point, but I couldn’t find a YouTube clip that wasn’t over-cropped to avoid copyright infringement.  Sorry guys, you’ll just have to wait until the episode airs on one of the “Classic TV” channels.

Anyways…

So this is the second full moon of the month.  A blue moon, shall we say.

No, it doesn’t mean that the moon itself turns blue, unless there’s area where an active volcano threw up enough ash to tint the atmosphere… or a photographer decided to shoot the moon at 2500 degrees Kelvin… which is what I did. 🙂

Yep, another test of my Rokinon 500mm f/8 mirror lens with a 2x converter.  And this time, I adjusted the shooting temperature in the camera to the coldest setting possible – 2500 degrees Kelvin.

Which makes this moon a bright blue.

See?

Blue Moon.  Nikon Df camera, Rokinon 500mm f/8 mirror lens with 2x teleconverter and manual shutter release.  Shot at 2500 degrees Kelvin.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Blue Moon. Nikon Df camera, Rokinon 500mm f/8 mirror lens with 2x teleconverter and manual shutter release. Shot at 2500 degrees Kelvin, ISO 400, 1/500 shutter speed. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Hello there.

I wonder if there are settings in this camera for other moon settings.  I’ll have to check for the Kelvin temperatures if I want to shoot this kind of moon –

Or maybe this color of moon…

Because in two months, I will hopefully shoot a crimson red copper moon in the sky.  And if all goes well, I won’t need any Kelvin adjustments to my camera to capture it.

For now, though… I’ll just be happy with this azure satellite.

For now. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wow, it really is a blue moon out tonight…”

  1. Boy, I found those clips of the MASH episode you probably came across, about thrice as wide as the space, as though that wouldn’t violate copyright, somehow.

    Like

  2. Love that Walkmen song. This still looks a little unsharp, the Nipper test shots looked good. Looking forward to seeing what you get tonight!

    Like

Comments are closed.