Hey Nipper… Peek-a-Boo!!

None of my telephoto camera lenses are strong enough for what I need to achieve.  And if I don’t solve this issue before September 28th…

Trust me on this.  I cannot let September 28th pass by without my attempting to achieve this goal.

Which is why I acquired a mirror lens over the weekend.

Specifically, a Rokinon 500mm f/8 mirror lens.  It’s compact, it’s lightweight, and it should allow me to photograph long distances.

So you know what that means.  I have to test this bad boy out.

And what better test subject than a certain composite-constructed fox terrier / Jack Russell terrier mix in Albany’s Warehouse District?

Yeah, you know who.  Nipper.  For sure.

So Saturday morning, after I assembled the lens – I needed to add a special mount that allowed the camera to interface with my Nikon Df camera – I went over to the Warehouse District and set up my shot.

Here’s what the camera looks like with the Rokinon 500mm f/8 mirror lens attached to it.

IMG_20150718_125323

Kinda looks like an old World War II mortar, doesn’t it?

Now as you can see, I’m set up at the parking lot on North Pearl Street.  Nipper is on Broadway.  Or, as in this picture, here’s how far away I am from the doggie.

IMG_20150718_124700_hdr

Here’s my first shot of Nipper.  Mind you, I’m standing way on the other side of North Pearl Street.  I’ve got a whole city block and a half between me and the statue.

And I got this.

Nipper 500
Nipper 500. Nikon Df camera, Rokinon 500mm f/8 mirror lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsGood lord, you can read his name on the collar! Granted, I had to strap the Nikon Df to a tripod and hold everything steady; even the slightest breeze can give some nasty vibrations and blur. Okay.  That’s 500 millimeters. Let’s boost this bad boy. Because in addition to acquiring the mirror lens… I also acquired a teleconverter.  And this teleconverter should turn this Rokinon 500mm lens into a Rokinon 1000mm lens. Re-attached the camera.  Focused.  Ready.  Aim.  Shoot.

Nipper 1000
Nipper 1000. Nikon Df camera, Rokinon 500mm f/8 lens, with 2x teleconverter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Hokey smokes, I’ve been on the roof with Nipper and I’ve never gotten an image this close.  You can actually see the trapdoor on his head.

Okay.  Test one completed.  Success.  Now I have to wait a week or two for my second test.  I have two months before September 28th to capture a full moon, with the craters and all.

And this lens is now on the clock.

Fingers crossed.  Let’s do this.

 

3 thoughts on “Hey Nipper… Peek-a-Boo!!”

  1. If I had known, I have a 600-1000mm t-mount you can borrow. Horrible chromatic aberration but that can be fixed in post.

    Like

Comments are closed.