A Gift for Sheridan Hollow

There will come a day, some day in my life, when all the gifts and skills I have received in my lifetime, I must use them to give back.

And thus begins a new day and a new project.  Follow along with me on this; I think you’ll enjoy it.

It’s one thing to move into a brand new home and start a brand new life.  And that’s what has happened for the residents of Sheridan Hollow, as Habitat for Humanity has commenced construction of twenty new homes in downtown Albany.

These are excellent homes and will provide their new homeowners generations of fantastic memories and life experiences.  And it’s something even more special if you’re able to add a little artwork to the mix.  Something special, something definitive, something heartwarming, something that isn’t just a bare wall.

So in coordination with the people involved in the Capital Region’s Habitat for Humanity, I pledged the following.

As part of the Sheridan Hollow revitalization project, for every house that Habitat for Humanity builds, I will provide one good-sized Chuck Miller artwork, framed and wired and ready to hang.

That’s right.  You’re getting a new house, you deserve a nice artwork to hang on the wall.  Don’tcha think?

So last week, I provided four framed artworks – The Railsplitter, Star Trails of Brown Tract Pond, Jesus Saves and Beecher Creek Falls – to the Habitat for Humanity offices.  They, in turn, will install the artworks into the new homes at Sheridan Hollow.

Star Trails of Brown Tract Pond
Albany County Rail Trail: The Railsplitter Jesus Saves
Beecher Creek Falls in Winter, Edinburg, N.Y.

Yep, all four of them framed, wired, ready to hang on the wall.

Why in the world am I doing this?

It’s for the same reason that people are volunteering their time and effort and talents to build these houses in the first place.  There is a serious need for affordable housing in this area, and we’re not just talking about renovating an old factory into a set of luxury condominiums.  And if my artworks can add an additional luxury to these new homes, then that’s something special.

There are twenty houses planned for the Sheridan Hollow neighborhood; so as time progresses, I will have sixteen more photos and artworks available for the homes.

This is what you do.  It’s charity, it’s a random act of kindness, it’s offering something extra.

Because at some point in my life – whether it’s tomorrow or thirty years from tomorrow – the things I create with my hands and with my mind and with my heart can all help make someone’s world just a smidge better.

Right?

1 thought on “A Gift for Sheridan Hollow”

Comments are closed.