Paul Bunyan says, “C’mere.”

This was one of my shots that I’m contemplating putting in the “short pile” for competition season.  This is one of my Aerochrome photos, and it was taken in Lake George at the Magic Forest amusement park.  I think this is that mold of Paul Bunyan that’s appeared from time to time across the country; his left hand pointed down, his right hand pointed up, as if to hold an imaginary axe.  In this picture, from this angle, it looks as if he’s leaning over the red trees and motioning to come forward, as if he was ready to pick a fight.

C'mere
Paul Bunyan says “C’mere.” Rolleiflex Automat MX camera, Kodak EIR (Aerochrome) film; orange filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yeah, I’m still thinking about whether I want to enter this photo in the mix; I do want to include some infrared pictures in Competition Season 2015; I just don’t want to overdo it.  And I have a couple of black-and-white infrareds that I want to consider as well.

Dang, I wish that photo competitions didn’t have limits on the number of images one could enter.  Kinda makes me feel like Dick Vitale, as he puts 17 players in his Top 10 for the year.

So what do you think?  Should I enter this picture?  Or is it just too creepy and weird that the judges might pass it by?

2 thoughts on “Paul Bunyan says, “C’mere.””

  1. Not one of my favorites, but in the subjective world of contest judging it isn’t possible to predict what will be successful. Your past experience on what is successful and what isn’t should be your guide.

    Like

Comments are closed.