A little scrapple in the morning

Yesterday I did a road trip to south central Pennsylvania – it was a combination “photo day” and “getaway day” and “pickup day” (I acquired a super-swank Dream Window frame that was too delicate to ship).

Before I left the region, I stopped at a local grocery store and purchased a few regional foods – some Seltzer’s deli meats, a shoo-fly pie, and – of all things – a package of scrapple.

A little scrapple in the morning...
A little scrapple in the morning…

At the risk of turning this into a “foodie” blog, I figured I’d at least have to try a package of scrapple at some point in my life.  Scrapple is a mixture of pork and corn meal, and apparently it’s a delicacy in the region.  There are several recipes for this taste treat; I figured I’d try at least one recipe.

Supposedly you are to cut the scrapple into half-inch-thick chunks, fry the chunks in shortening over medium heat, and serve for breakfast.

While the scrapple fried in the pan, I put a couple of English muffin slices in the toaster.  A few flips of the scrapple in the skillet, and the meat turned a nice brownish tint.  Then, after the muffins popped out of the toaster, I placed the scrapple on the toasted breads.

IMG_20150519_064449

Okay… looks good… I suppose… but it definitely needs something extra.

There was still melted shortening in the pan… you know what they say … waste not, want not.

I re-fired the pan and fried up two medium-sized eggs in the shortening/scrapple broth.

The eggs fried nicely.  I’ve really never used shortening as a cooking agent; mostly I’ve fried my eggs with margarine or butter, so this will be a new taste treat for me.  And since I’m frying eggs for breakfast, I have to add a little Tabasco sauce for that extra kick.

And here’s what came out.

Open-faced eggs and scrapple.
Open-faced eggs and scrapple.

And I can tell you this.  This was a nice wake-me-up breakfast treat.

I don’t know if I cooked the scrapple properly; I didn’t read through five different cookbooks or put in additives like quinoa or acai berries… but I think I did all right.

And I still have a reasonably-sized package of scrapple in case I want to try some other recipes in the future.  As far as I’m concerned, this was something new and unique to try for a day.

Look, I’m the same guy who created the delicacy of Span Stroganoff.  So if I’m okay with that creation…

Then I guess a breakfast of open-faced eggs and scrapple, along with Tabasco sauce… will certainly make me stronger, since it hasn’t killed me. 🙂

6 thoughts on “A little scrapple in the morning”

  1. Gag!!! Seriously, Chuck, I think you’ve watched too many episodes of Amish Mafia. You’ve jumped the shark. I admire your adventurous spirit, but leave this mystery meat off the table. Stick to something safer, like climbing Mt. Everest blindfolded or bungee jumping into a pit of crocodiles.

    Like

  2. My family has been eating scrapple for years. I don’t partake. We have even shipped it to Hawaii for my brother. My parents bring it home everytime they go to Maryland. We cut it a bit thinner and cook it crispier. Just don’t ever read the ingredients! My brother-in-law made that mistake.

    Like

  3. During one of our trips to Lancaster County decades ago I bravely ordered scrapple with my breakfast the last day we were there. After taking my order, the waitress returned to our table and informed me they were out of scrapple. So I never had the pleasure.

    Like

  4. Scrapple is OK, but it pales in comparison to Taylor Pork Roll, the pride of Trenton NJ and all time greatest breakfast meat.

    Like

  5. Scrapple is an acquired taste, different brands are better then others too. Best when it is a crispier. The real treat is Taylor Pork Roll( as Philly Boy Roy said). It is available in most Shop Rites, give that a try.

    Like

  6. Scrapple rocks
    It’s got plenty of fat no need for shortening
    Throw in a pan, crack a few eggs over it and enjoy

    Like

Comments are closed.