The Windsor Express just busted my bracket

Okay, like your basketball bracket survived past the first round this year.  Don’t front.

The truth is, my National Basketball League of Canada playoff bracket predictions were as perfect as a sunrise.  All my first-round teams advanced.  And I had the Atlantic Division champion (Halifax Rainmen) correctly picked.  And my Central Division pick – the Brampton A’s – had a 3-1 lead in the best-of-seven series over the Windsor Express.

At this point, I was ready to pick the Kentucky Derby winner, the World Series champion, and the winner of the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest.

And then the Windsor Express ran off three straight wins – including a 120-101 Game 7 triumph in which they outscored Brampton in the first half 75-41 – and I knew at that moment my bracket was toast.

Maybe seconds after the game ended, I received a phone call from Audley Stephenson, the NBL Canada’s media man.  “Rub it in, Audman,” I said.  “I know my prediction went sour.”

“Oh, I’m not going to rub it in,” Audley smirked.  “Here, I’ll let you speak to Tony Bennett.”

Tony Bennett – not the vocalist, but a power forward for Windsor – let me know that he put my “Brampton in 6” comment on the proverbial bulletin board, and he reminded me that I should never count out his team.  Never.

Fair enough.

And then, this morning… this little video appeared on my Facebook feed.

And man oh man, I’ve heard it from Windsor’s fans. I couldn’t have been more of a lightning bolt if I walked into the Nassau Coliseum with a New York Rangers jersey on my shoulders.

 

Well, as I’ve said before, I’m a big enough man to admit when I make a mistake.  And if you disagree with my predictions, then prove me wrong.  Go with the “nobody gives us respect” card.  Run with the “we’re the underdogs” them.  And if it helps you get to the next round, if it helps you clinch that Central Division championship pennant for the second consecutive season and puts you in a position to claim your second consecutive league title…

That’s fine, too.

Just remember that I still have one final prediction.  And that prediction is that Halifax will win the championship in seven games.  And that the seventh game will be won by the Rainmen by at least five points.

If I’m wrong – then I say to the Express one more time – prove me wrong.

And if I’m right… then you heard it here first. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Windsor Express just busted my bracket”

Comments are closed.