Wow, I’m selling cars in the Netherlands these days??

I never know what blog post from the past five-plus years will garner a reader response.  So I was surprised when someone contacted me about this four-year-old article.

Background.

Four years ago, I won an eBay auction for a “Chuck Miller Ford” dealership badge.  Although I’m a General Motors person, I thought that the Ford badge – for a “Chuck Miller Ford” in Texas – was kinda fun to own.  I barely had the artifact for a few weeks, when a member of that Chuck Miller’s family contacted me about acquiring the piece for his family’s archive.  No probs, off it goes to you.

That was a couple of blog posts from 2011.

Surprisingly, just a couple of weeks ago, I received this message from a man named Marco.

“After googling a car which I want to buy, I was reading your article in times union about the former Ford Dealer ‘Chuck Miller’ from Lake View Texas.  As you can see, even across the Ocean (Netherlands) we have badges of Chuck Miller ;-)”

Wait, what?

More information must be gleaned for this.  I contacted Marco and asked about the car.

Apparently it was a 1992 Ford Taurus that someone imported from Texas to the Netherlands.  And somehow, in 2015, it ended up on the Netherlands’ version of an online used car website.  Here’s the link.

And look at the back bumper…

Yep, it’s the badge of Chuck Miller Ford in Clear Lake City, Texas!

I mean, let’s face it.  How would you like to be driving along a European highway with your American-imported, left-side-steering-wheel Chuck Miller-branded Ford Taurus?

Yeah, I’m not digging the phrase “Ford Taurus” in all that, but still…

Although Marco decided against buying the car – I mean, who really wants a 23-year-old Ford Taurus – he was kind enough to send me the link and the photos.

So if you’re looking for a car in the Netherlands and you have €750 to spend, here’s the car of your dreams.

And I’ll tell you this, if you’re spending €750 for this car, at least €650 represents that custom badge on the car’s right rear panel.

Hee.

