It’s still cold at Hoffman’s Playland…

Remember back in the day when you had a camera full of film and you had to “finish off the roll,” take a few pictures here and there so that you could have the film developed?

I did that yesterday.

Background.

On my way home from Dutchess County a week or two ago, I took some photos along the way.  A neon sign here and there, a faded barn shot here and there, an oddball sign that I wanted to use as a “Caption Time” photo and completely forgot about.

West Taghkanic Diner sign
West Taghkanic Diner sign. Nikon F100 camera, Agfa Vista 200 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I have to come back at some point and photograph this sign at night, when it’s all lit up in neon.

Hawk Orchards
Hawk Orchards, f/k/a Coller’s Fruit Farms and Cold Storage. Nikon F100 camera, Agfa Vista 200 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I wonder how many years ago that place was Collier’s Fruit Farms and Cold Storage. Interesting.

Free Gas
Free Gas in Columbia County. Nikon F100 camera, Agfa Vista 200 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

You’ll never find gas cheaper than here. Ha.

And then I put the camera away.

Yesterday – a week after these shots – I picked up the camera. Hey wait a second, I still have half a roll inside. Gotta shoot some “burn-off” film so that I don’t get stuck paying for a full roll and only having half a roll of film developed.

So I drove for a while, looking for ideas. And that’s when I came across – of all things – the Hoffman’s Playland sign in Latham. It’s still up… and it’s still illuminated.

Huh??

Hoffman's Playland Sign, January 2015
Hoffman’s Playland Sign, January 19, 2015. Nikon F100 camera, Agfa Vista 200 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

What in the name of…

And it was only then that I realized that although Hoffman’s Playland was shuttered, the Subway sandwich shop that was part of the Playland was still in operation. Made sense, at least keep operating as long as possible before the grounds get plowed over for some mixed-use office complex.

Part of me thought about hopping the fence and doing some “urban exploration” of the shuttered amusement park. That thought lasted about three seconds. Instead, I took a few pictures from the parking lot, using my telephoto lens. Here’s a couple. And at no time did I venture past the gates. Let someone else get busted for trespassing. Not me.

Hoffman's Playland RR Sign, January 2015
Hoffman’s Playland RR Sign, January 19, 2015. Nikon F100 camera, Agfa Vista 200 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

 

Hoffman's Playland Roller Coaster sign, January 2015
The Kidney Buster roller coaster, January 19 2015, Nikon F100 camera, Agfa Vista 200 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

You know… at some point we’re all going to be excited when the new “Huck Finn’s Playland” opens. Yeah, it won’t be the same as the old Hoffman’s… but there’s still a lot of possibilities and excitement for this new project. I applaud what the Huck Finn’s Warehouse people are doing to save this part of Capital District culture.

Heck, it might make me even purchase some new furniture at the store.

We shall see.

Because it’s kinda cold here. And I want to go somewhere warm and have these pictures developed.

Old-school me, I guess.

 

One thought on “It’s still cold at Hoffman’s Playland…”

Comments are closed.