Chuck’s best photos of 2014

I had a decent year with my cameras, and although 2014 wasn’t as big an “award wining year” as 2013, I still felt that I captured plenty of dazzling images.  Some of them won awards, some of them sold during charity season, some of them caused controversy, and some of them helped soothe a damaged soul.

So which photos made Chuck’s “Best of” for 2014?

Well, I believe the list should include…

JESUS SAVES

Jesus Saves
Jesus Saves. Nikon F100 camera, Nikkor 50-300mm f/4.5 lens, Revolog Tesla 2 film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Those lightning bolts were pre-printed on Revolog Tesla 2 film, an Austrian boutique 35mm film that helped me take silks at both the Vermont State Fair and at the Big E.

STAR TRAILS OF BROWN TRACT POND

Brown Tract Pond star trail, New York
Star Trails of Brown Tract Pond. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 55mm f/1.2 lens, 700 images stitched together with startrails.de. Photo by Chuck Miller.

My most successful star trails photograph, and one that took silk at Altamont this year.  It’s also done well in private sales, as several people have contacted me privately to purchase their own prints of this artwork.

BEECHER CREEK FALLS, APRIL 2014

Beecher Creek Falls in Winter, Edinburg, N.Y.
Beecher Creek Falls, April 2014. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens, Hoya NDx400 neutral density filter. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This picture still gives me the chills.  And I don’t mean because it was cold out there.  The picture took two silks (Vermont and the Big E), and was exhibited at the Northwest International Photography Show in Washington State.  Nice.

FAGBUG AND VAUDEVILLE

Fagbug and Vaudeville. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens, six images shot with colored filters, photo combined in lenticular print. Photo by Chuck Miller.

This was my first truly successful attempt at a lenticular print, in which the images change depending on how you look at the photo.  The picture was exhibited at the Photo Center of Troy’s “Members Show,” and was later sold for charity as part of the Damien Center’s “Stylin'” fundraiser.

THE ZIPLESS CHUCK

The Zipless Chuck
The Zipless Chuck. AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, Kodak 400 film (two rolls, one flipped in redscale), with zipper. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yep, Chuck went “mixed media” on this one, and I think it looks really rad.  And I’m definitely looking toward this appearing in some upcoming competitions in 2015.  You know it.

JESSICA: INSTAMATIC DICHOTOMY

Jessica: Instamatic Dichotomy
Jessica: Instamatic Dichotomy. AGFA Clipper Special f/6.3 camera, two rolls of Kodak 200 Instamatic film. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yep, I actually broke open two vintage Instamatic cartridges, rolled them into some 70mm backing paper, and got this nice shot.  Definitely the first time I’ve been able to use Instamatic film without totally insta-cringing.

THE STAR BARN OF HARMONY CORNERS

Star Barn, Harmony Corners, N.Y.
The Star-Barn of Harmony Corners. Kodak Medalist II camera, Kodak Verichrome Pan film (expiry long long ago). Photo by Chuck Miller.

Not only was this the first roll of film I ever shot with my new-to-me Kodak Medalist II camera, it may have been the first exposure ever taken with this beast.  This picture won a ribbon at the Big E, but it also caused controversy when it was judged in the wrong category at the Vermont State Fair.

RELIGHTING L-KEN’S

Re-lighting L-Ken’s. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens, and a little electronic paint job. Photo by Chuck Miller.

My second successful lenticular print, this one earned silk at Altamont (Yay!), and was later sold at “charity season” for the Mohawk Hudson Humane Society’s “Art Saves Animals” show.

COME TO HOFFMAN’S PLAYLAND

Come to Hoffman’s Playland. Nikon Df camera, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8 lens, six images combined in lenticular print. Photo by Chuck Miller.

How strong did I feel about this picture?  At the last minute, I pulled out a photo that was earmarked for the New York State Fair, and added this one instead.  The picture, along with two other Chuck Miller artworks, sold as part of the 2013 Historic Albany Foundation’s “BUILT” charitable auction.  Sweet.

RUTLAND THE GOAT

Rutland the Goat
Rutland the Goat. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Yeah, I have good feelings about this little guy.  I’m hoping that Rutland could have as much success in 2015 as The Jumbuck had in 2013.  Or at least I can hope.

And there they are.  The ten photos, collages, cinemagraphs, experiments, etc. that defined my 2014 photography oeuvre.  I hope that some of your favorites are here as well.

And you know I’ll be shooting with new ideas and new concepts for 2015.

Of course I will.  Haven’t you come to expect that from me? 😀

