“Look out for that moose!!”

I’ve been enjoying my vacation so far – a trip to Prince Edward Island, watching the National Basketball League of Canada’s third All-Star Classic.

Stefan Bonneau about to jam, while Anthony Anderson and Johnny Mayhane watch in awe. Nikon Df camera, Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G lens. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Oh yeah.  I still got it.

So now it’s time to head home.  It’s a long journey from Charlottetown to the Capital District, and part of the journey involved car-pooling back to Saint John, N.B. with Ian McCarthy, the general manager of the NBL Canada’s Saint John Mill Rats; and with Anthony Anderson, the league’s 2013-2014 MVP.

We drive down a very long, scenic stretch of highway, through towns with exotic names like Cap-Pele and Shediac and Petitcodiac.  The conversation in the van is spirited and provocative – we talk about things like whether it makes sense for the NBA to funnel prospects to the D-League instead of to college, whether the NBA should prevent athletes from declaring for the NBA draft early, whether the Charlotte Bobcats will ever win a playoff game –

Suddenly, Ian pulls the van over to the side of the highway.

“Look!” he exclaimed, pointing to the side of the road.

It’s a moose.

A real-life moose.  Not an elk.  Not a Knights of Columbus or a Kiwanis.

“I’ve driven this road for years,” he said, “and I’ve never seen a moose on this road.  You should get a picture, Chuck.”

Okay, let’s figure out the parameters.  My Nikon Df is packed in the back of the van.  By the time I dug the camera out from underneath the bags of luggage and basketballs, the moose would have left.  The only camera I have handy…

Is the one from my BlackBerry Q10 smart phone.

Go for it.

“Hey Chuck,” Ian said.  “Be careful.”

“Don’t worry,” I replied.  “He’s not going to hurt me.”

“Not you,” Ian joked.  “I don’t want him to his this van.  It’s a rental.”

Okay… time to hunt for moose.  Sneak up on moose like Boris and Natasha.

And…

Moose.  BlackBerry Q10 camera phone.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Moose. BlackBerry Q10 camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

Keep shooting, Chuck.  You’ve got Bullwinkle in your sights.

Moose.  BlackBerry Q10 camera phone.  Photo by Chuck Miller.
Moose. BlackBerry Q10 camera phone. Photo by Chuck Miller.

I quickly switched to the BlackBerry’s video mode, and tried to do my best Marlin Perkins imitation.

But, as you can see, the moose got tired of all the publicity and headed back into the New Brunswick woods.

Now THAT was cool.  I don’t know how many times I’ve seen those road signs that say, essentially, that wild animals could cross the streets at any moment.  And here we have it – a real live moose, walking by as if nothing important was going on in its life.

Doesn’t matter.  The best part of a vacation is the unexpected.  And that was just way cool in and of itself.

